My life is so prearranged

LittleRiverBandCoolChangeOn 19 January, 1980, “Cool Change” by the Little River Band peaked at #10.

I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I can’t take “Cool Change” by the Little River Band seriously.  It’s not that it’s so painfully earnest, though that helps.  No, it’s because of one line… here it is:

Well, I was born in the sign of water
And it’s there that I feel my best
The albatross and the whales they are my brothers

You see, the albatross is his brother.  The albatross, that elegant, graceful, noble bird that carries no other cultural baggage that might, you know, detract from the smooth, sexy, saxy, ambience of this really serious song.  I mean, really, do they not actually have albatrosses in Australia?  It’s not like they needed a three-syllable bird to fit the music here.

Leave a Reply

